95 Pounds in 95 Weeks   1 comment

On May 23, 2010, I weighed 465 pounds.  Yes, that is correct, four hundred sixty-five pounds.  It was only by the grace of God that I did not have major cholesterol, blood sugar, triglyceride, or other serious problems.  Two days later, I had adjustable gastric banding surgery. My original goal was to lose 200 pounds in four years, which would get me down to 265, and then reassess the potential for further weight loss.  The good news is that so far I have lost 105 pounds.  The bad news is that it has taken me 242 weeks to do so.

I have relied too much on the restrictive properties of the band to lose the weight and not enough on changing my diet and exercise habits.  I don’t want to take another 200+ weeks to lose the last 95 pounds, and in many ways I really can’t afford to do so.

I have made a promise, to God, to my myself, and to my wife to lose those 95 pounds in 95 weeks or less.  I really think I can do it in 64 weeks, but my promise is to be at or below (and stay at or below) 265 pounds by November 3, 2016.  A good reference for this date is that it is five days before the 2016 Presidential Election.  Notice that my promise did not say that I am going to try to do this.  As a very wise man once said, “Try not.  Do . . . or do not.  There is no try.”

20150108

Posted January 9, 2015 by Andrew Cabiness in Family

One response to “95 Pounds in 95 Weeks

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: 95 Pounds in 95 Weeks: 25% of Goal | Thirteen Forty-two

Comments encouraged!

