What Black Friday Means to Me   Leave a comment

I love football, I love turkey, and I love mashed potatoes.  So it makes sense that Thanksgiving is one of my favorite days of the year.  My mother’s family has a very unusual tradition of bowling on Thanksgiving morning.  It even made the local news three years ago when we celebrated the 50th anniversary of bowling on Thanksgiving.  I have many fond memories from childhood of bowling in the morning and then watching the Detroit Lions lose during/after a wonderful feast.  Of course, even 33 years later, nothing tops the 1980 game (go to 6:20 in the clip).

On the flip side, I am quite impatient, so I don’t like waiting in lines or in traffic.  I also don’t like large crowds.  So it makes sense that the day after Thanksgiving is my least favorite day of the year.  I’ve never participated in any sort of Black Friday shopping.  As the years have gone by, my anti-Black Friday habits have gotten more extreme.  I’m at the point now where I don’t like to go anywhere on that day.  Every year there seem to be more and more stories on the news about people being trampled or beaten at stores, and stuff being stolen out of cars in parking lots.  It just seems to me that the safest thing to do is stay inside and watch football, though there aren’t any really good Friday games on tap this year.

Does anybody else have any anti-Black Friday traditions?

Posted November 27, 2013 by Andrew Cabiness in College Football, Family, Sports

Comments encouraged!

